Hurray

According to the directory of thisisant the PM5 does not support the FIT profile, but this wrong – PM5 does support it.

  • Connect the watch to the PM 4|5. Setup any sort of workout or just start to row (as long as the stays connected, all sort of rowing will be saved within one session on the watch – very comfy!). Do your workout.
  • After you have finished, disconnect (turn off PM) from PM 4|5.
  • Import the session(s) into ST3 .

What you get is…

1507092700

Or (zoomed in and partially selected to get detailed informations)…

150709212451

150710074302

Really. Extremely. Useful. Woooohoooo! 😀

Sidenote: And… byebye Rowpro (I hated this crappy piece of software), ErgData (not helpful for analysis, but more comfy for upload) and BoatCoach (much better than ErgData, gives some graphs/data, but not that helpful if you’re not an Excel pro).

12 thoughts on “Hurray

  1. Looks like a very good process! Only downside for me is that all the C2 ergs I have access to are all PM3 at most, so unfortunalty I dont have access to ANT+ supporting hardware! Would certainly switch to your setup if I did have access to a PM4 however, looks much easier to collect and sync the data for later review

    Liked by 1 person

      1. HAH TBH i am half tempted to buy a second hand PM4 and just take it with me and attach it to whatever erg im using at the time!

        I am totally sold on the post-pc idea and although the PC still has its uses I have always been very jeleous of the ease by which runners/cyclists etc have it with Garmin devices that automatically sync their data as soon as you get onto a wifi network (or sync with your phone), being able to sync erg and water workouts in this way would certainly be a great improvement over having to sync and upload devices over a PC as rowers currently have to do

        Like

        1. HAH TBH i am half tempted to buy a second hand PM4 and just take it with me and attach it to whatever erg im using at the time!

          Do it. It’s a great idea, full of “feu sacré”. And easy to handle.

          I am totally sold on the post-pc idea and although the PC still has its uses I have always been very jealeous of the ease by which runners/cyclists etc have […] being able to sync erg and water workouts in this way would certainly be a great improvement over having to sync and upload devices over a PC as rowers currently have to do

          Me too! In the long term, I find the continuous post-exercise analysis very extremely important and helpful for progress. But… it must be get done on daily base and without effort. If it’s too much hassle, the athlete won’t do it. Unfortunately the “post pc area” is still not here. I even don’t know if it will ever be there for detailed analysis.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. My workflow: at dock, start crewnerd and Garmin watch. Row. Back at dock, start Garmin connect on phone. Data arrives in Garmin Connect online before I remove the sculls. Next time I start SportTracks, data are automagically there thru auto sync with Garmin connect. I can analyze as much as I want whenever I want. In changing room, email data from Crewnerd to myself, so they are in inbox when I decide to blog. Garmin+SportTracks is failure free backup and long term data mining tool. Crewnerd for immediate feedback in boat, preprogrammed sessions a la PM3 and colorful graphs. And for stroke rate data which are missing when using a Garmin Forerunner in the boat. Now and then I use Rowing in Motion instead of CrewNerd.
            SportTracks desktop version plus plugins is great.

            Liked by 1 person

            1. Hey Sander

              Because you’re using Sport tracks too… don’t know if you already know about these two Plugins; but I assume that you do. Anyway… Weather and Trail Coloring.

              Weather gets real weather informations from surrounding weather stations. With Trail Coloring you can e.g. let display the Head- and Tailwind on your GPS Route.

              Example

              Liked by 1 person

            2. Sounds like a solid setup, you may be interested to know that NK have also confirmed to me that they are working on an iPhone app for their NK GPS 2.0 which means that we will be able to upload the workout directly from the device online so in the near future you could replace the iPhone in the boat with an NK that comes with the added advantages of being able to use an impeller to ignore any stream and also is better in sunlight

              Liked by 1 person

  2. Looks like a really good solution. Do you get the cadence data from the PM4 as if it is an external cadence sensor, or does that come from the watch itself? Also, can you get distance rowed? One way that I use rowpro is to look at time for specific interval distances.

    I agree that RowPro is pretty flakey software. I tend to be very lenient in terms of how i judge it because I know how small the indoor rower market is and I know that software development is hard and expensive. But I have essentially found a setup that works reliably and I don’t dare mess with it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Greg, all data comes directly from PM5. The watch is only a kind of “receiving data host.”

      Distance, splits/laps, watts, cadence (SPM), start and end time, duration, speed 500/m, speed km/h, heart rate, battery level, rest time between two workouts/sessions and so on. Out of the box.

      Just connect the watch via Turn Wireless On > Connect via ANT+ > Choose the watch > confirm > done.

      Now you row whatever you like. If you’re not sure if you’re going to do a 3×20′ or a 4×20′ no problem. As long as the initial connection is not interrupted, you can do first a 2×20′, if you then feel good, you just setup another 20′. After that maybe one more. The good thing is… all these 20′ session will be saved within one sessionfile. You even see the rest time between the different 20’s. I hope you get what I mean. With Rowpro you have to decide beforehand – found this always a big drawback.

      After import into ST3 you can zoom in and track the session at which point/area you like, second by second. The good thing is, that it’s not “only a nice colorful chart” which I can post somewhere, no, I can pull out information of it and work with. I get numbers out of it.

      Love it.

      Like

  3. So you’re telling me I should have upgraded my concept2 C model to a PM4, not a PM3 … 😦
    Agree with SportTracks. Great software.
    I am with Greg on my judgment of RowPro. I like the personal support and think they’re doing a great job supporting a niche market, including setting up regular training rows on-line.

    Like

    1. I’m sorry for you, Sander. 😦 I know that feeling (of having bought/updated into the “wrong direction”) very good. 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

